Kicking the habit: emotional eating and junk-food addiction (# Weeks 1 and 2)

A couple of weeks ago, I announced that I was going to begin the process of kicking my emotional eating/junk food addiction.

It’s been a slow start, but a steady one.

I decided to try juicing.

Why? Well, I figured, I’ve tried every other fad diet in the world, (seriously, all of them. High protein – low carb, high carb – low fat, soup diets, fruit diets, coloured food diets, no sugar diets, fasting, Atkins, the Gabriel Method, Geneen Roth, hypnosis, group therapy, personal training, gym, morning walks.) Everything. Why not juicing?!

The difference this time, is all in my mind-set.

This time, my aim is to nourish my body and change my tastes over time, not to drop weight quickly. This is not some punitive retribution for past sins based-on self-loathing. I’m simply sick-and-tired of feeling sick-and-tired. I am not happy. I want to feel good. I deserve a better quality of life than this.

As a result, my focus isn’t on how much I eat, it’s on making incremental, sustainable change to improve what I WANT to eat – the things I’m craving for.  Not to ‘be good’. Not to ‘control myself’. Not to ‘get thin’. Just to feel better. To slowly, but surely, change the types of foods my body craves, by giving it the nutrition it needs.

So, here’s my progress so far:
___________________

# WEEKS 1 and 2

Approach:

  1. I replaced breakfast with a green juice every morning (green juice ingredients: 2  green apples, 1 piece of fresh ginger, 1/2-1 lemon or lime, 1 whole bunch celery, 1 cucumber, 1 cos lettuce)
  2. I still ate all the same foods and snacks
  3. I still drank coffee and alcohol at will
  4. I tried other juices every couple of days (in addition to my daily ‘green juice’)

Results:
Results were mixed, to say the least!

  • The first few days, I felt EXHAUSTED!
  • I suffered from crippling migraines and felt very fluey.
  • I was CRANKY beyond all belief!
  • I couldn’t believe I felt so bad, when I hadn’t actually STOPPED having anything I would usually consume!
  • All I had done was add a very healthy juice, no different (in terms of ingredients) to eating to massive salad each day.
  • The migraines subsided and I started to feel better after about 10 days.
  • By far the biggest improvement in weeks 1 and 2 was the quality of my sleep. It improved a LOT. After suffering years of chronic insomnia, I’m now sleeping soundly. Initially I slept a lot longer than usual too, but perhaps that was making up for a long period of deprivation. Now that my body knows it has reliable access to high-quality sleep – the hours of sleep seem to have returned to a far more ‘normal’ range for me (I’m sleeping around 6-7 hours a night) but of a much higher quality. Much deeper, more restful, less tossing and turning, and very little waking up during the night.
  • This, in turn, has meant that I feel more calm and focused during the day, for which everyone around me is eternally grateful.
  • The other thing that I’ve noticed is that people are starting to comment on how well I look. Comments like “You look so WELL”, “You’re looking great!” and “WOW! Look at your beautiful skin! You’re glowing!”, are happening a lot. Funny, given that I haven’t lost any weight!
  • Weight loss: Nil. (Unsurprising, given the huge amount of junk food I’ve inhaled!)

[see also: Emotional eating: (A ‘Dear John’ letter)]                            [see also: Weeks 3 and 4]

About Lyn Campbell

Lyn likes to be thought of as insightful, articulate and achingly clever, but she's just a bit of a nerd, really. _____________________________________________________ All written content copyright © Lyn Campbell 2008-2012. All rights reserved. No written content may be used, in part or in full, without the author's express written permission. (Pictures available from Google - copyright unknown unless otherwise credited).
This entry was posted in Cooking, Depression, Dieting, Food, Life, taking control of your life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kicking the habit: emotional eating and junk-food addiction (# Weeks 1 and 2)

  1. Well done Lyn – numbers on scales are only one form of measurement. Well-being, good sleep and calmness are infintely healthier than worrying about numbers!

    • Lyn Campbell says:

      Thanks for your kind support Julia. I’m hoping the numbers will come as I slowly scale things up over the coming weeks, but, as you noted, I’m keeping the focus on wholistic wellbeing and sanity; balance over scales!

Leave a Reply

